Tuesday, 23 April 2019 12:24

Jason Batzofin (Right) is IESF’s current Players’ Commission Chairman


The relationship between Team members and International Esports Federation (IESF), Organising Committees, and National Federations is one founded on contract, being a combination of IESF’s Statutes and Regulations, entry form, National Federation Rules, and their Team Membership Agreements.

Accordingly, IESF’s Players’ Commission has no role during the Games. It also has no role in any nomination and selection disputes or any anti-doping or other disciplinary hearings or tribunals involving athletes.

The Commission, however, has a far more important purpose, and that is to represent the interests of esports athletes at IESF Board.

In 2019, the term of office of the inaugural Players’ Commission shall expire, and at IESF’s 2019 World Championships, all NF’s Player Representatives shall elect a new commission. Thus Jason Batzofin (South Africa), Koen Schobbers (Netherlands), and Madeleine Leander (Sweden), the first such committee, shall have served their full term and have to resign from their positions.

Each National Federation’s Players Representative shall have one vote each and shall elect six members of which half shall be male and half shall be female.

The voting shall take place at IESF’s 2019 World championships, and IeSF shall make a venue and time available for all the National Federation’s Players’ Representatives to meet.

It is at such meeting that the various National Federation’s Players’ Representatives shall state which of their number are making themselves available for election.

Only should there not be sufficient numbers for any one gender, then members of such gender may offer to stand for election even though they are not National Federation’s Players’ Representatives, but as long as they are team members at such World Championships.

To be a National Federation’s Players’ Representative, such athlete shall: • Have a seat, as per the NF’s own Constitution/Statutes, on the Board of such member federation, and • Have reached the age of majority, and • Have represented such member federation in a national team at an IESF World championships, and • Not be older than 30 years of age. This is a vital position that requires athletes who are dedicated and committed to ensuring a better environment for all athletes.

Certainly, Jason Batzofin (South Africa), Koen Schobbers (Netherlands), and Madeleine Leander (Sweden) all did their countries proud and have served with distinction.

IESF President, Coin Webster, stated, “IESF is proud of the contribution made by the members of the inaugural commission. All members worked well during their term of office and have created a culture within the commission that will ensure that all esports athletes are protected.”

“All that remains to be seen is, who shall be elected into office in 2019.”